Apr 10

Hurricanes at the World Hockey Championship


From May 4th – 20th the IIHF will hold its annual Ice Hockey World Championships. 16 teams (Countries) will be divided into two groups using the IIHF World Ranking for seeding. Each team then plays seven preliminary round games, with the top four rounds in both groups advancing to the quarterfinals. These preliminary round games will be played in Helsinki (Finland) and Stockholm (Sweden).

The Quarterfinals will be played within the groups so that teams do not need to travel from one country to the other.

The cross-over system will be implemented as of the semi-finals which will be played in Helsinki. Medal games will be played in Helsinki as well.